Monday, June 09, 2008

Seven deadly sins alive and well today, says Jesuit journal

We witness more and more every day, which is why we posted weekly meditations on the Capital or Deadly Sins during Lent.

ROME (CNS) -- The seven deadly sins are still key to understanding and healing the social and personal ills plaguing humanity today, said an influential Jesuit journal.

The capital vices of lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy and pride are not outdated and have not been made irrelevant by psychotherapy or other mental health counseling, La Civilta Cattolica said.

The journal cited a survey commissioned by the British Broadcasting Corp. that found most people surveyed felt the list of deadly sins defined in the Middle Ages no longer applied to modern-day life and should be updated.

Some people would just love to abolish the list or modify it to reflect always changing circumstances - it's just too "Middle Ages" for contemporary sensibilities.

No link to the "La Civilta Cattolica" article as yet...
at Catholic News Service.

No comments: